College Football Crowns a New National Champion

College Football Crowns a New National Champion


Florida State Seminoles Are Champs

The Florida State Seminoles are the champions of major college football, winning in stunning fashion on Monday. Its 34 to 31 victory over the Auburn Tigers brought the football season to a fitting end and also closed the 16-year bowl championship series era. Or “error” if you’re like many fans that detested the arrangement.

Late Scoring Drive

The Seminoles won by rallying late, putting together a winning drive with just 1:19 left and scoring a touchdown with just 13 seconds remaining. That toss, a two-yard pass to Kelvin Benjamin from Jameis Winston, put the Seminoles up to stay. The all important extra point was good, providing the three-point margin needed in the event that Auburn got within field goal range. That attempt never happened and the game ended with the Seminoles winning their first national championship since 1999.

Florida State found itself down 21 to 3 in the first half, but not completely out. A late second quarter touchdown cut that lead to 11 points and a third quarter field goal had the Seminoles within just eight points. The Seminoles moved within one point when Chad Abram caught an 11-yard pass from Winston with 10:55 to go. Six minutes later an Auburn field goal stretched the lead to four points, but was immediately answered by a stunning 100-yard kickoff return that put the Seminoles up by three.

Auburn Fights Back

Auburn, however, wasn’t done and immediately began work on a clock killing 8-play, 75-yard drive that culminated with a 37-yard sprint by Tre Mason that seemed to put the Tigers up by four. But Florida State had this year’s Heisman Trophy winner at the helm who responded with a 7-play, 80-yard drive that provided the margin of victory.

With its win, Florida State finished the season at 14-0 and was unanimously voted the top team in the nation followed by Auburn. Michigan State, South Carolina and Missouri took the next three spots followed by Oklahoma, Alabama, Clemson, Oregon, and Central Florida.

SEC Streak Snapped

Florida State’s ascendancy snapped the SEC’s 8-year hold on the national championship. Auburn, winner of the 2010 national championship was the surprise team this year, turning around a 3-9 season to win the SEC and the right to play for the national championship. The hero, of course, was Jameis Winston the redshirt freshman who steered the Seminoles all season.

With the BCS curtain coming to a close, college football will introduce its first playoff system beginning next year. Its a four-team arrangement that will rely on a committee to choose the four top teams in the nation. It may not be the arrangement that most people wanted, but it could satisfy the teams that might have otherwise been excluded.

See AlsoKey Facts About the College Playoff System


end of post idea


Helpful article? Leave us a quick comment below.
And please share this article within your social networks.

facebook linkedin pinterest

Amazon Affiliate Disclosure: is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to The commission earnings are used to defray our cost of operation.

View our FTC Disclosure for other affiliate information.

Categories: NCAA Football