College World Series Gets Started This Saturday


I can think of one very good reason why the College World Series (CWS) should continue to be played every year in Omaha, Nebraska: the weather. June high temperatures typically average in the low 80s, but with many games played in the cool of the evening, fans and players rarely have to sweat the series out. Lots of schools would probably prefer to see the series played closer to their homes, but you can’t argue about the weather nor can you easily dismiss tradition.

Sixty Years In Omaha

Home to the AAA Omaha Royals, Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium also hosts the College World Series, an annual June event which crowns the best Division 1 collegiate baseball team.

Home to the AAA Omaha Royals, Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium also hosts the College World Series, an annual June event which crowns the best Division 1 baseball team.

This year’s series will mark the sixtieth consecutive year that Omaha has hosted the Division 1 College World Series, with the city guaranteed to continue hosting the event through 2035, thanks to agreeing to build a new downtown ballpark that will be ready in time for the 2011 series. The current venue – Omaha Municipal Stadium – was built in 1947 and later renamed Johnny Rosenblatt Stadium to honor the man who credited with bringing minor league professional baseball to Omaha.

Though it has served admirably over the years as a host stadium, the city has decided to replace the stadium in order to secure its position. The new stadium will also become the new home for the AAA Omaha Royals as well as for Creighton University.

This Year’s Series

As of this writing, seven of the eight teams who won their Super Regional titles will be heading to Omaha: Arizona State Sun Devils, Arkansas Razorbacks, LSU Tigers, Cal State Fullerton Titans, North Carolina Tarheels, Virginia Cavaliers, and the Southern Mississippi Golden Eagles. Last night’s rubber match between the Texas Longhorns and the TCU Horned Frogs was to decide the eighth and final position (too late for this publication). Update: Texas is in based on their 5-2 Austin Super Regional victory over TCU on June 8th.

The series is set to begin on June 13th and will end on either June 23rd or 24th depending on whether a third game is needed to decide the eventual champion. Teams will be placed in either one of two double-elimination brackets with the winners facing off for the national championship. The first team to win two games will become the national champion.

Last year’s CWS had a surprise winner the Fresno State Bulldogs who knocked off the Georgia Bulldogs 6-1. With their victory, Fresno State became the lowest ranked team ever to win the CWS, winning two out of three from the heavily favored University of Georgia team.

Adv. – No matter where you’re planning to attend school next year, you’ll want to weigh all of your options first. Technical school v. community college. University v. college. Online education v. night or weekend school or traditional path. If you’re considering an online education, please check our dedicated page to help you find the right school and program for you.


end of post idea


Helpful article? Leave us a quick comment below.
And please share this article within your social networks.

facebook linkedin pinterest

Amazon Affiliate Disclosure: is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to The commission earnings are used to defray our cost of operation.

View our FTC Disclosure for other affiliate information.

Categories: Collegiate Sports