How the College Playoff System Impacts the Bowls

How the College Playoff System Impacts the Bowls


The dreadful Bowl Championship Series is gone, replaced effective this fall by a four-team playoff system. The new system will most likely do a better job of determining a national champion, leaving little doubt that the winner is the best college football team in the land.

College Bowl Rotation

Under the new system, six bowl games will be part of a rotation to host the semifinal games to be played on New Year’s Day. The bowls, know as the New Year’s Six, include the Rose Bowl, Sugar Bowl, Orange Bowl, Cotton Bowl, Fiesta Bowl and the Peach Bowl.

The first two games will be played on Jan 1, 2015. The Rose Bowl will host one game at 5 p.m. ET and at 8:30 p.m. ET a second contest will be played at the Sugar Bowl. The winners of those games will meet on Jan. 12, 2015, in Dallas at AT&T Stadium for the national championship.

On New Year’s Day 2016, the semifinal games will be hosted by the Orange Bowl and the Cotton Bowl. The following year the Peach Bowl and Fiesta Bowl will play host. The year after that the rotation starts all over again.

38 Bowl Games

Notably, even as the semifinals are taking place, the existing bowl system continues. Indeed, earlier on New Year’s Day three other games will be held, each with a 1 p.m. ET start time. These games are: the Capital One Bowl, the Outback Bowl and the Cotton Bowl. On New Year’s Eve, the three other “New Year’s Six” games will be played as the Fiesta Bowl, Peach Bowl and Orange Bowl host their games.

In total, 38 bowl games will be played beginning on Dec. 20, 2014, and culminating with the national championship game more than three weeks later.

New Bowl Games

Several new bowl games are set for 2014-2015 including the Camellia Bowl in Montgomery, Alabama, on Dec. 20, the Miami Beach Bowl at Marlins Park on Dec. 23, the Boca Raton Bowl also on Dec. 23, and the Bahamas Bowl on Dec. 24 in Nassau.

That Bahamas Bowl isn’t the first time that a bowl game was held outside of the United States. Beginning in 1907, the Bacardi Bowl was played seven times in Havana, Cuba, usually pitting a Cuban team against a US rival. That on and off again bowl was last held in Dec. 1946 when Southern Miss walloped Havana University 55 to 0.

More recently, the International Bowl was held for four years at Rogers Centre in Toronto beginning in 2006. That bowl ended when the Big East Conference severed its relationship with the bowl to commit to the new Pinstripe Bowl in New York.

See Also5 “Other” Bowl Games You Wont’ Want to Miss


end of post idea


Helpful article? Leave us a quick comment below.
And please share this article within your social networks.

facebook linkedin pinterest

Amazon Affiliate Disclosure: is a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for sites to earn advertising fees by advertising and linking to The commission earnings are used to defray our cost of operation.

View our FTC Disclosure for other affiliate information.